15 Best Dystopian and Post Apocalyptic Fiction Books for Fans of the Hunger Games

For fans of the Hunger Games or for those who love reading stories about survival in Dystopian societies or post Apocalypse America, check out my list of the 15 Best Dystopian and Post Apocalyptic Fiction Books for Fans of the Hunger Games.

15 Best Dystopian and Post Apocalyptic Fiction Books for Fans of the Hunger Games

The Hunger Games inspired lots of readers to delve into the exciting dystopian genre and other stories about survival in a post Apocalypse America.  I’ve read every book on this list and for those that are trilogies, I’ve read the entire series. Yes, I’m somewhat obsessed with Dystopian fiction!

Below is a list of my favorites in no particular order. Most of these trilogies below are complete with all 3 books available to read – Hooray! I’ve also included a few “classics” from years ago that I read in high school that are worth noting since they are excellent books and certainly dystopian fiction.

15 Best Dystopian and Post Apocalyptic Fiction Books for Fans of the Hunger Games

1. Matched by Ally Condie – a Trilogy

Ally Condie’s Matched Trilogy is fantastic. A dystopian society and a love triangle. What more could you ask for?

Matched Trilogy

Here’s the official blurb from the Matched website.

In the Society, Officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die.

Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one… until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow — between perfection and passion.

2. Delirium by Lauren Oliver – a Trilogy

The Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver is a gripping and emotional read as the protagonist Lena decides to rebel against her dystopian society, a world that has abolished LOVE by “CURING” its citizens with a medical procedure when they turn 18 that removes their ability to love. This series if excellent and yes there will be quite a love triangle too.

Delirium

 

3. Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi – a Trilogy

The Under the Never Sky Trilogy offers up another dystopian world set in the future where even the weather of our world is a force to be reckoned with along with feuding tribal cultures and modern technology. And yes, a love story is included!

Under the Never Sky

4. Legend  by Marie Lu – a Trilogy

This trilogy is INCREDIBLE and I promise the love story between June and Day will capture your heart too. Bonus: All 3 books in this trilogy are now available too so you can read this and go right on to Prodigy and then Champion. Hooray!

 Legend a novel by Marie Lu

5. Enclave: The Razorland Trilogy by Ann Aguirre

In this spooky trilogy, Deuce has never seen the LIGHT of day as she grows up in the subterranean world of the subway tunnels of New York City as her society remains hidden from the wild terrors that have decimated society.  As you can imagine, circumstances will force her to make her way above ground in a heart pounding trilogy where she’ll find love and face constant danger. I loved this story! Excellent trilogy and all 3 books in this captivating tale are now available so you can follow up Enclave with Outpost and finish the trilogy off with Horde.

Enclave review

6. Frozen: Heart of Dread Book One by Melissa de la Cruand Michael Johnston

A future USA that is covered by ice. The oceans are black from pollutions and icebergs are made of Trash. Add in some supernatural powers and a controlling government for a thrilling read. 

Frozen Heart of Dread

7. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

This book is a page-turner that you won’t be able to put down. Think Alien invasion that comes in waves to decimate the human population on Earth.  The apocalypse is happening NOW on Earth and Cassie is one of the few survivors to survive each wave of terror.

Literally, virtually no one is left alive on the planet and Cassie doesn’t know if she can trust anyone…….

5th wave review book review

8. In the After by Demetria Lunetta

Another apocalypse survival story thanks to an alien invasion that has basically destroyed the way we lived BEFORE. Find out what the future holds for Amy Harris who is also one of only a handful of survivors as almost the entire society has disappeared – her parents, the government, and everything she knew BEFORE the creatures arrived and starting destroying everything and everyone.

in the after book review

9. The Divurgent Trilogy by Veronica Roth

The 1st book in this trilogy will hit theaters in March 2014. Friendship, family, love and a society that thinks you can only BE one thing. The protaganoist Tris is fantastic. Brave and daring, Tris will capture your heart in this heart pounding drama that will test her limits, introduce her to love, and make her question every rule she’s been taught since birth.

Divurgent

10. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card 

This book has been a classic since 1994 and was recently made into a hit movie starring Harrison Ford.

Enders Game

 

11. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

Brave New World is one of the best pieces of science fiction ever written and is considered a masterpiece. It’s not as “hip” as today’s modern dystopian stories but it’s a classic not to be missed if you like the dystopian and post-apocalyptic or future society genre.

 

12. Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Written in 1953,  this dystopian novel depicts a future USA where firemen burn any books that are found. Think censorship. As book burning throughout history has been a way to censor dissenting ideas, Bradbury imagines a future where all books are burned. Another classic that is definitely worth reading.

13. Shatter Me Trilogy by Tahereh Mafi 

Action. Romance. Adventure. Another teen girl faces unimaginable challenges thanks to special powers that she can’t control and it looks like she’s not the only one. Her touch is her power. The other books in the trilogy, Unravel Me and Ignite Me are the other books in the trilogy and a handful of novellas in the series also are available.

14. The Host by Stephanie Meyer

It’s an alien invasion saga written by Stephenie Meyer of Twilight fame. Love, family, trust, and of course aliens.

15. ICONS by Margaret Stohl

Alien takeover after BILLIONS of people across the planet died all on one day. The best selling co-author of the Beautiful Creatures series writes an excellent post-apocalypse dystopian story set in California. Think aliens and a corrupt government that just maybe a few very special teens with a set of unique powers can overcome.

 

About Colleen Padilla

Colleen Padilla, the founder and editor of ClassyMommy.com lives in the Philly suburbs and is a full time mom for her 2 children, Mackenzie (7) and Kyle (5). Colleen and the Classy Mommy website have been featured on Fox News, Good Morning America, The New York Times, Parenting Magazine, The New York Post, local Philadelphia ABC, CBS, and NBC programs. Colleen has appeared in a TV special about Alpha Moms on South Korea’s NBC affiliate SBS. She also co-authored The Digital Mom Handbook (HarperCollins).

Comments

  1. I couldn’t get through The Host. I had to quit after about 50 pages or so.

    But I wanted to suggest an addition to the list – The Uglies (it’s the first book in a trilogy) by Scott Westerfeld. I really enjoyed it.

    • Thanks for the recommendation. I’ve never read the Uglies – but I’m going to read it now! Host wasn’t my favorite on this list for sure – but once I got into it I remember enjoying it, although it is NOTHING compared to the newer post apocalyptic and dystopian fiction out there like Enclave, Legend, Delirium etc.

      • Anonymous says:

        Uglies is amazing! It’s a lot like Delirium.

      • Chris Casso says:

        I saw your site and thought I could suggest a dystopian fiction ebook I just finished co-authoring. It’s called The OBSTACLE, and is available on Amazon Kindle and Kobo.com. Paperback will follow soon. Be sure to read the sample (longer excerpt is on Amazon – 17,000+ words).

        I hope you enjoy it! Thanks!

        – Chris

        http://www.amazon.com/OBSTACLE-Frank-Casso-ebook/dp/B00IMUAJR4/ref=la_B00IO65E1M_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1393955885&sr=1-1

        http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/the-obstacle-1

    • Anonymous says:

      I have recommend The Host to numerous people and all have said/done the same thing. I would definitely give it some time. The first 50ish pages are confusing and give you the whole “what the hell am I reading” vibe but it all clears up and it became one of my all time favourite books. Just don’t watch the movie first. The movie doesn’t even come close to how good the book is.

  2. Rachee says:

    The Fifth Wave was AWESOME! I love Ender’s Games.
    I would add The Maze Runner is a fantastic series. Check that out.

  3. Have you read the Partials series by Dan Wells? Love it more than Divergent!! I have a favorite teen reads post on my blog as well. I can’t wait for the sequel for the 5th Wave to come out. Have to wait till May 2014 :/

  4. Great resource. This cold weather is the perfect time to curl up with a good book!

  5. Caitlin says:

    I’ve never read or cared to read the hunger games but some of these books sound interesting.

  6. Jessica @FoundtheMarbles says:

    Bookmarking this for when my so finished the Hunger Games. Thanks, Colleen!

  7. Tia says:

    I would never read The Host, no offense, Stephanie Meyer is just one of my very least favorite authors. Recommendation: The Giver. About to read that in class and I already know I’ll love it, plus it is kind of famous; I was surprised it wasn’t on here.

    • Anonymous says:

      Dont judge the host just because igs written by her. It is nothing like her other books like twilight. I heard of host befor i even knew it was writen by the same person i read it and loved it and looked her up to see if i could get more books by her and found out she wrote twilight and was like oh wow id have never guessed. Its so good ive read it like 5times

    • Anonymous says:

      The Giver is great but don’t stop there- Gathering Blue, The Messenger, Son last book brings them all together fantastic!!! By Lois Lowery

    • Chris says:

      I’m sorry Tia but the giver was aweful and slow. I do not recommend !!

  8. Great ideas! I’ve read about half on this list and I will definitely check the rest out (I’m also a big fan of dystopian fiction!). I have two suggestions: the Maze Runner series and the Gone series. Both are excellent!

  9. A. says:

    I’ll have to look into some of these, but really want to make a suggestion of my own.
    “The Handmaid’s Tale” by Margaret Atwood. And, heck, while I’m at it- another by Margaret Atwood- “Oryx and Crake”.

  10. Judy Schechter says:

    I haven’t read The Hunger Games but I love dystopian/post-apocalyptic books. I HIGHLY RECOMMENDED the Yesterday’s Gone series by Sean Platt and David Wright. They are my new favorite books!!

  11. Judy Schechter says:

    My favorite post-apocalyptic series is Yesterday’s Gone by Sean Platt and David Wright! Amazing!!

    • Doug says:

      Wow! Can you spam that book some more? Those guys have made a career out of having their minion followers flood the web with positive reviews.

  12. Jeri says:

    I’ve either read or own about half your list, and I have to say, I loved Frozen. I saw it when I was browsing in my local library a year or so ago, and I was entrigued, but never enough to read it until one day I figured, why not? Read it, loved it, everything. Reading through the comments I also saw the mention of the uglies series. Those books were great, and I also loved Midnighters.

  13. jana says:

    i suggest you also read the graceling series, the shatter me series and the chemical garden

  14. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m
    impressed! Very helpful info specially the last part
    :) I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular info for
    a very long time. Thank youu and good luck.

  15. Margaret Atwood Fan says:

    How is the MaddAddam trilogy by Margaret Atwood NOT on this list………….. disappointing.

  16. Sandrea says:

    Apocalypsis by Ella Carey (could have the name backwards) is another good trilogy. I highly recommend it. So is the Torture’s Daughter and the Daynight series. I can’t remember the names of the authors.

  17. Susan Liew says:

    Just curious…….why are all most of the main characters in the newer series teenagers? Anyway, Hugh Howey’s Silo series (Wool, Shift and Dust) is very good.

  18. Chris says:

    The Reboot trilogy is really good too !!!

  19. D Morehart says:

    I’m surprised that everywhere I look no one mentions the Possession series by Elana Johnson. I picked up one of her books on a whim and I loved them. I only wish the series didn’t end! They are AMAZING!

  20. Angela says:

    The Wool Series by Hugh Howie is fantastic! And I got to meet him at the Savannah book fair! dystopian novels have become my favorite and I will definitely be checking out these!!

  21. Gina B says:

    Awesome list and more great stuff in comments. I’ll be hanging on to this page!

  22. Reinaldo J. Nunes says:

    The 5th Wave is not a dystopia, or fit it. It is wrong to classify it as well. This book is a science fiction, not dystopia.

Trackbacks

  1. […] with doing what I have said I would do. I have completely forgotten to include an excerpt of my apocalypse/dystopian story for you to read. Well, no more procrastinating. Here it […]

Speak Your Mind